Vista House is currently open from 9:00 am – 6:00 pm daily.
You may call the Vista House at (503) 695-2240 if you have any questions.
Come Visit Us on Facebook
The Vista House was built in 1917 on one of the most beautiful scenic points on the Historic Columbia River Highway. It was constructed to provide travelers a place to rest and refresh themselves as they made their way down the magnificent Columbia River Gorge. The Friends of Vista House is a non-profit group in partnership with Oregon State Parks who work to help preserve and share the story of this beautiful historic Oregon structure. Our volunteers provide visitors with regional and interpretive information to help make their visit a valuable experience.
Information about the educational exhibits and displays relating to the building is available. Our volunteers provide special building tours and talks to school, civic, and tourist groups. Visitors learn about the architecture of Vista House, the Historic Columbia River Highway, the Columbia River Gorge, local history, the geology, flora and fauna of the region, and the many wonderful attractions along the Highway and throughout the Gorge.
The Vista House has recently been approved as Bike Friendly.
Our Friends of Vista House Gift Gallery offers visitors high quality regional artwork and local gift items and is open throughout the spring, summer, and fall seasons. Our Espresso bar serves refreshments and snacks for travelers and is open year round (winter weekends, weather permitting).
Some Vista House History
Vista House was built between 1916-1918 by Multnomah County as a comfort station and scenic wayside for those traveling on the Historic Columbia River Highway, which was completed in 1916. Vista House is also a memorial to Oregon pioneers. It was formally dedicated on May 5th, 1918.
The graceful octagonal stone structure towers 733 feet above the Columbia River and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and in National Geographic Society’s 2001 Save America’s Treasures.
In 2000, Vista House was closed for almost five years while an extensive restoration was completed. Over $4 million was raised through the joint efforts of the Oregon State Parks Trust, the Friends of Vista House, and the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department to fund the restoration. The Vista House re-opened to the public in the summer of 2005 and was formally rededicated May 5, 2006, in a grand ceremony.
The Friends of Vista House now works in partnership with Oregon State Parks to help share the experience of Vista House with over one million visitors each year.
Our Mission: To help preserve and protect the historic Vista House and to provide information and interpretive programs about it's history and the Columbia River Gorge.
Friends of Vista House is a 501(c)3 organization and all donations and membership fees are tax deductible.